Skip to content

Happy-Go-Lucky

December 4, 2008

Mike Leigh’s Happy-Go-Lucky has done well with the critics but is yet to factor at the box office . I just pray that momentum gathers and word of mouth propells this little gem into the spoltlight it deserves.

Although at times the incesant quirky mannerisms of the protagonist can be infuriagting, it cannot be denied that the film has a wonderful spirit much like Amelie.

It’s costumes were put together by award winning Atonement costume designer Jacqueline Durran. Although many of the outfits are not to my taste at all, the are outstandingly appropriate for the character and the postivity that embodies the film.

The films light and uplifting look on life is what has touched all those who have seen it. My favourite dialogue from the film comes when Poppy delivers a wonderful philosohy on a dilemna that many struggle with. She is questioned about her lack of inverted commas “responsiblity”

I love my life…yeah it can be tough at times, but that’s part of it, isn’t it? I’ve got a great job, brilliant kids [not her own, she works in a school], lovely flat, i’ve got her to look at [points to her best friend], got amazing friends, I love my freedom. I’m a very lucky lady, I know that.

app1

app21

app3

app4

app5

app6

app71

app8

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

